New York Courts dot gov
New York StateUnified Court System

Supreme Court E-Filing Information

Announcements | Forms | New York State Courts E-Filing System (NYSCEF) | Office of the County Clerk | Protocol & Rules | Requirements | Timeline | Training | Archives

E-filing is now permitted in Dutchess, Orange, Rockland and Westchester Counties for approved case types.


E-filing Orange to commence February 1st

Mandatory Redaction of Confidential Personal Information

Voluntary E-filing available in Dutchess County for all *approved Civil Case types

E-Filing is now available for Matrimonial Cases in Westchester County on a voluntary basis

Westchester County: Mandatory E-filing for ALL *approved civil cases including Tax Certiorari and Foreclosure

(*See protocols for approved case types)

back to top

Forms for E-Filing

Notice of Commencement of Mandatory E-filed Case

Cover Sheet for Hard Copy Submission - E-filed Case (rev 6/22/10)

Stipulation and Consent to E-filing (EF-10)

Notice of Opt-Out

back to top

Office of the County Clerk

Office of Dutchess County Clerk

Office of Orange County Clerk

Office of Rockland County Clerk

Westchester Legal Division

Westchester Records On Line

back to top

Protocol & Rules

A Guide to Working Copies (revised 7/2016)

Rules of the Chief Judge and Legislation

Protocols and Rules for Dutchess County E-Filing

Administrative Order Orange County
Protocols and Rules for Orange County E-Filing

Administrative Order Permitting E-filing in Rockland County
Protocols and Rules for Rockland County

Joint Protocols for NYSCEF Cases Filed in Westchester County
(Rev. 4/1/2013)

back to top


  • computer with internet capabilities
  • printer
  • scanner
  • software such as Adobe Acrobat in order to view PDFs
  • user ID and password to access E-File Sytem
  • Optional: software that allows you to convert documents into PDFs

back to top

Timeline for Implementation

Dutchess Timeline

  • Voluntary E-filing as of February 10, 2014, for all *approved Civil Case types (*Excludes Matrimonial, Election Law, Mental Hygiene, Article 78 and Small Claims Assessment Review)

Orange Timeline

  • Voluntary E-filing as of February 1, 2016 for all approved Civil Case types (excludes CPLR Article 70 and 78, Election Law, Mental Hygiene Matters, Matrimonial Matters, Small Claims Assessment Review Proceedings

Rockland Timeline

  • Voluntary E-filing as of April 4, 2011, for approved civil case types commenced in Rockland Supreme Court.
  • Mandatory E-Filing on June 1st, 2011 for approved civil case types commenced in Rockland Supreme Court.

Westchester Timeline

  • January 2012- Mandatory for all *approved Civil Case Types not excluded by statute.
  • June 1, 2011 - Mandatory to other Civil case types, including Commercial Claims that do not meet the criteria for inclusion in the Commercial Division
  • March 1, 2011 - Mandatory to other case types, including commencement of Tort Cases
  • January 19, 2011 - Voluntary basis with respect to commencement of Tort and Commercial Cases and Tax Certiorari Proceedings
  • February 1, 2011 - Mandatory with respect to the commencement of Tort Cases
  • June 21, 2010 - Voluntary basis in Commercial Division

Approved case types are all Civil matters with the exclusion of matrimonial actions, Election Law proceedings, Article 78 proceedings and proceedings brought pursuant to the Mental Hygiene Law.

back to top


NYSCEF On line training available for Bar and public

Demonstration of the New E-Filing (NYSCEF) application:
Video | Transcript

User Manual for Supreme Court and Court of Claims

back to top


back to top

9th Judicial District